Your IP Address is 54.162.111.61
简体中文  |  繁體中文  |  English
Change to Normal FontsChange to Larger FontsChange to The Largest Fonts size
Organised By:Internet Society

What is IPv6?

 

What is the Internet Protocol?

content

When you type a website into your browser, such as "www.website.com", you might not be aware but behind the scenes the domain name is actually translated to a string of numbers called Internet Protocol address (IP addresses) that identifies the website on the Internet. Similar to the way a phone number tells the world how exactly to contact you, an IP address is a unique combination of numbers assigned to each and every computer or device so that they can communicate and interact over a network [1]. Right now, the device you're reading this webpage on, whether it's a desktop computer, laptop or mobile device, is accessing the Internet through an IP address, which is shown on the top left-hand corner of this webpage.
 

The current state of the Internet and the issue of IPv4 exhaustion

content


Up until now, Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4) was the main method by which IP addresses were assigned on the Internet. However, the Internet has become completely saturated thanks to its explosive growth and the sheer number of devices needing to access it. IPv4 provides only a limited number of IP addresses (232 or about 4.3 billion [2] - much less than the world's population). Actually, according to the Number Resource Organization, the world was officially allocated its last batch of IPv4 addresses in February 2011[3] , hence the term "IPv4 exhaustion".
 

So, what's IPv6 and is it the only solution?

content

To make sure the Internet keeps running smoothly, computer engineers created Internet Protocol version 6, or IPv6, another IP addresses system which offers room for trillions of times more addresses than IPv4[4] . The mechanism is similar to how the Hong Kong government introduced a '2' in front of all fixed line numbers in 1995[5] as 7-digit telephone numbers were running out.

The challenge is that, unlike the telephone example, which simply involved dialling a different number to reach someone, IPv6 is not directly compatible with IPv4. For direct communication over IPv6, both the sending and receiving networks must be deploying IPv6.

Therefore, not only will businesses need to upgrade their hardware, users will also need to upgrade their own Internet-accessing devices and software, such as laptops and operating systems, to ensure they are IPv6 compatible. Despite this challenge, the transition of the Internet to IPv6 is the only available long-term solution to IPv4 exhaustion.
 

What are the benefits of IPv6?

content

For home users, IPv6 isn't just a mere numerical update to provide more addresses, but will introduce new features to make your Internet experience better, faster and a lot more seamless. The new standard will also support the huge growth in mobile devices and electronic appliances over the coming decades.

Find out more about how you can check if you are IPv6 compliant and how you can upgrade yourself. Don't sit back just because you think it won't affect you - click here to see how you can upgrade yourself to IPv6-ready.

For businesses, IPv6 offers a number of new capabilities which will bring several advantages over IPv4. These include [6]:

  • Auto-configuration - IPv6 devices can automatically configure IP address by themselves;
  • Easy renumbering - allows customers to change ISP without the need to reconfigure IP addresses;
  • Improved network efficiency - enhancing the performance of any network;
  • Quality of Service (QoS) enhancement - faster connection speed for designated applications;
  • Mobility support.
Deploying IPv6 is vital to Hong Kong businesses in order to maintain our edge as the pre-eminent communication hub in Asia. The Internet Society Hong Kong (ISOC HK) is working closely with the Hong Kong government and many other agencies to encourage IPv6 adoption through education, certification and training programmes for both home users and businesses. Click here to find out more about how you can check if you are IPv6 compliant and how you can upgrade yourself. To ignore IPv6 is to risk your medium to long term business viability, so act today!
 

What cool new innovations are being introduced with IPv6?

It's not just about providing more addresses. IPv6 introduces a wealth of new possibilities. Typical examples include business applications such as video conferencing, voice-over-IP (VoIP) , e-health and e-learning applications as well as a range of devices which otherwise won't be available over IPv4 networks[7] .

Manufacturers are also using the functionality of IPv6 to develop new products, such as IPv6-enabled cameras and IPv6-enabled PDAs (Personal Digital Assistants), which have been specifically designed to enable you to communicate with all the other IPv6 toys that are coming on the market. Check out SixXs.net's Toy Gallery for a full list.

An example of how IPv6 is bringing advanced technology and communications tools into our daily lives is the World University Games in Shenzhen in 2011 (the "Universiade"). During the tournament, the Universiade Village used IPv6 technology to provide intelligent applications to the athletes in their living quarters. They were able to use an IPv6-based home gateway to remotely control the lighting, curtains, air conditioning, stereo, television and more, all via their mobile phones or PCs. In addition, the athletes could enjoy IPv6-based video intercom and real-time video surveillance, as well as advanced audio and video entertainment services.
 

Are you IPv6-ready?

Users should note that right now there is no ISP in Hong Kong offering IPv6 residential broadband services. However, if you're using Windows Vista or above, or other compatible windows you may be able to access IPv6 websites with some limitations on speed and quality of service. Finding out if your network is ready for IPv6 is just a click away. Simply visit http://ipv6test.isoc.hk/ to test your IPv6 connectivity.
 

What if you don't have IPv6 yet?

Don't panic! IPv6 will co-exist with IPv4 for a long time yet, and services for existing Internet businesses will not be affected when IPv4 addresses are exhausted. If your company is on an IPv4 network and is using a compatible system that supports automatic tunnels (such as Windows Vista or above), you may still be able to access some IPv6 websites (with some limitations). However, making your own customer-facing websites IPv6 ready will help future proof your business by ensuring in the years to come that you're still available to those with IPv6 only addresses. Consider your own circumstances and business IT setup to decide what the benefits of upgrading to IPv6 are for you.
 

Online Quiz: Test your Knowledge!

IPv6 expert or amateur? Test your knowledge here with our IPv6 Quiz!

What's IPv6 Pamphlet

comic

Footnote:
 1.OGCIO - http://www.ogcio.gov.hk/en/business/tech_promotion/ipv6/
 2.OGCIO - http://www.ogcio.gov.hk/en/business/tech_promotion/ipv6/ipv4_address_exhaustion.htm
 3.NRO - http://www.nro.net/news/ipv4-free-pool-depleted
 4.US IPv6 - http://www.usipv6.com/what_is_ipv6.php
 5.OFCA - http://tel_archives.ofca.gov.hk/en/telecom_fact/milestones/main.html
 6.OGCIO - http://www.ogcio.gov.hk/en/business/tech_promotion/ipv6/ipv4_address_exhaustion.htm
 7.SixXS Net - http://www.sixxs.net/misc/coolstuff/#see

Flash Memory Game: IPv6 "Fast" Fact
Take the challenge to become the quickest in memorizing IPv6 Facts that you must know!

View IPv6Now.hk in Mobile | Desktop
Copyright © 2012 Internet Society Hong Kong
W3C World IPv6 Launch

你的IP地址是 54.226.76.27
简体中文  |  繁體中文  |  English
以一般大小的文字觀看以較大文字觀看以最大的文字觀看 大小
Organised By:Internet Society

什麼是IPv6?

 

什麼是互聯網規約?

content

當你在瀏覽器輸入如「www.website.com」等網址,你可能察覺不到該網址在背後會轉化成為一組數字,而這組數字則被稱為互聯網規約地址(簡稱IP地址),用以識別在互聯網上的網站。IP地址就好像電話號碼一樣,讓全世界知道如何跟你聯繫,它是一個獨一無二的數字組合,分配給每一台電腦或裝置,讓它們能夠透過網絡交流和互動 [1]。你現時瀏覽此網頁所使用的裝置,無論是桌面電腦、手提電腦或流動裝置,都是透過IP地址存取互聯網上的資訊。你現在可以在此網頁的左上方查看你正使用的裝置的IP地址。
 

互聯網當前狀況及IPv4耗盡問題

content


到目前為止,互聯網主要使用互聯網規約第四版本(IPv4)來編制IP地址。然而隨著互聯網呈現爆炸性增長,存取互聯網的裝置數量急升,現時互聯網的IP地址資源已經完全飽和,不敷應用,因為IPv4只能提供有限數量的互聯網地址(232 或約43億 [2] -少於全球總人口)。事實上,號碼資源組織(Number Resource Organization)指出,全球最後一批IPv4地址已於2011年2月正式被分配[3] ,因此出現了「IPv4耗盡」(IPv4 Exhaustion)一詞。
 

那麼,究竟什麼是IPv6?它是不是唯一的解決方法?

content

為確保互聯網暢順運行,電子工程師推出另一個IP地址編制系統-互聯網規約第六版本(IPv6),它能夠製定比IPv4多出數以萬億倍的地址數量[4]。這套解決方案的原理有如香港政府於1995年在所有固網號碼前加上「2」字,以解決當時7位數字的電話號碼用盡的問題[5]

然而,部署IPv6規約是充滿挑戰,過程並不等於電話號碼更改般簡單。因為根據以上電話號碼例子的解決方法,我們只需在原有的電話號碼簡單地加上一個號碼,用戶便可通過同一部電話繼續通訊,不存在新舊硬件系統融合問題。相反地,IPv6並不兼容舊的IPv4,若要以IPv6規約作雙向通訊,無論是發送及接收的裝置,都需要全面更換成支援IPv6的設備。

商業機構必須升級硬件迎接IPv6,家居用戶亦需要查看其連接互聯網的設備及軟件是否能兼容IPv6,如手提電腦及作業系統等能否支援IPv6規約。雖然全面過渡的過程會是十分漫長,但互聯網走向IPv6化,是唯一長遠解決IPv4耗盡問題的方法。
 

IPv6有什麼好處?

content

對於消費者而言,IPv6並不只是提供更多IP地址,它並會引入更多全新的功能,令你獲得更佳的互聯網體驗。這個新標準亦會支持流動裝置及電子器材在未來數十年間的強大發展。

因此,請立即獲取更多有關如何檢查你現正使用的網絡和設備是否支援IPv6的資訊,並認識如何提升現有系統的資料。切勿因為認為事不關己,而置之不理。你可以點擊這裡查看升級至IPv6所需準備的事項。

對於企業來說,IPv6的設計者亦已為這個新標準建立了一些比IPv4有更多優勢的嶄新功能,包括[6]:

  • 自動設定:IPv6裝置能自動設定IP地址;
  • 號碼重編的便利性:用戶更改互聯網服務供應商後不需要重新編配IP地址;
  • 提升網絡效率:強化任何網絡的效能表現;
  • 提高服務質素(QoS):為指定應用程式提供更快的連接速度;
  • 提供流動支援。
因此,為了保持香港作為亞洲超卓通訊樞紐的優勢,對於香港企業來說,推動IPv6是至關重要。香港互聯網協會(Internet Society Hong Kong)現正與香港政府及許多其他機構緊密合作,透過教育、認證和培訓計劃,鼓勵家居用戶及企業採用IPv6。請即點擊 這裡,獲取更多有關如何檢查現正使用的網絡和設備是否符合IPv6標準,以及如何提升現有系統的資料。如果你忽略了IPv6,你的中長期企業發展計劃也將面對風險。請把握今天,馬上行動!
 

IPv6將會引入哪些嶄新和超凡的創意?

IPv6不但供應更多IP地址,它還引入更多新的可能性。商業應用是最常見的例子:視像會議、VoIP通話、電子醫療及電子教學應用,以及一系列原本不能在IPv4網絡上提供的服務[7]

另外,製造商亦使用IPv6的功能來開發新產品,如支援IPv6的相機及個人數碼助理(PDA),讓你能夠與已推出或將會在市面出現的IPv6玩具儀器溝通。如欲獲取完整的產品清單,請參閱SixXs.net的Top Gallery

最近在深圳舉行的2011年度世界大學生運動會(World University Games)便是其中一個例子,它示範了各種先進科技及通訊工具如何運用IPv6,為我們的日常生活帶來便捷。智能化的大運村(Universiade Village)為運動員提供智能家居應用,他們可以使用手機或電腦,連接IPv6網絡來遙遠控制村內的家居照明、窗簾、冷氣、音響及電視機等。此外,運動員更可以享用以IPv6為基礎的視像通話、實時視像監察,以及各式各樣的視聽娛樂服務。
 

你是否已為IPv6做好充分準備?

用戶應留意,現時在香港並沒有互聯網服務供應商提供IPv6家居寬頻服務。不過,如你現正使用Windows Vista或以上,或其他兼容的作業系統版本,你會有機會以有限的速度及質量來存取IPv6網頁。請瀏覽網頁http://ipv6test.isoc.hk/,立即測試你的IPv6連接性,在轉瞬間知道你的網絡是否已為IPv6作好準備。
 

假使你仍未支援IPv6,怎麼辦呢?

不用擔心!IPv6可以與IPv4同時並存一段長時間。當IPv4地址耗盡時,現有的互聯網設置和服務並不會受影響。如果你的企業現正使用IPv4網絡,並且使用了已支援自動管道的兼容系統(例如: Windows Vista或以上的作業系統),你或許仍然能夠存取IPv6網站(但當中會有一些限制)。不過,若你建立支援IPv6的客戶專用網頁,便會令你的公司網站於未來能夠有效地被IPv6的地址存取。不妨考慮及衡量現時的情況和你的業務資訊科技設置,以決定是否升級至IPv6並獲得升級後的好處。
 

網上問答遊戲:測試你的IPv6知識!

無論你是IPv6專家還是行外人士,不妨參加我們的 IPv6問答遊戲,測試你的IPv6知識!

什麼是IPV6小冊子

comic  

Flash Game: IPv6 Battle (Name TBC)

[To be inserted]-->

註腳:
 1.OGCIO - http://www.ogcio.gov.hk/en/business/tech_promotion/ipv6/
 2.OGCIO - http://www.ogcio.gov.hk/en/business/tech_promotion/ipv6/ipv4_address_exhaustion.htm
 3.NRO - http://www.nro.net/news/ipv4-free-pool-depleted
 4.US IPv6 - http://www.usipv6.com/what_is_ipv6.php
 5.OFCA - http://tel_archives.ofca.gov.hk/zh/telecom_fact/milestones/main.html
 6.OGCIO - http://www.ogcio.gov.hk/en/business/tech_promotion/ipv6/ipv4_address_exhaustion.htm
 7.SixXS Net - http://www.sixxs.net/misc/coolstuff/#see

Flash 記憶小遊戲:IPv6知識「速記」
接受速記IPv6不可不知小知識的挑戰,登上最快
檢視 IPv6Now.hk: 流動版 | 桌面版
版權由香港互聯網協會所有,©2012
W3C World IPv6 Launch