Your IP Address is 54.196.72.162
Change to Normal FontsChange to Larger FontsChange to The Largest Fonts size
Organised By:Internet Society

Frequently-asked Questions

For more FAQs and technical problem solutions, please also refer to the Internet Society FAQ site.

A. About IP, IPv4 and IPv6

Q: Is the Internet about to run out of IP address numbers?
Q: What is IPv6?
Q: What happened to IPv5?
Q: How does IPv6 solve the problem of IPv4 address exhaustion?
Q: What happens when the IPv4 address pool is finally depleted?
Q: When will IPv4 addresses actually run out?
Q: Why is IPv6 a great solution?
Q: Will IPv6 addresses run out eventually?
Q: What is the difference between IPv4 and IPv6? Will users be able to tell the difference?
Q: Are there other advantages to IPv6 besides increased address space?
Q: I have heard some people say IPv6 is more secure than IPv4, while others say it is less secure than IPv4. So who is right?
Q: Will IPv4 address depletion mean that services will get switched off?
Q: How long do you think we will have the IPv4 and IPv6 protocols active at the same time?
Q: What still needs to happen for the Hong Kong industry to effectively transition to IPv6?
Q: What and when is "World IPv6 Day"?

B. About transitioning to IPv6

Q: How will the switch to IPv6 affect me? What will happen if I do not switch?
Q: Is IPv6 ready for deployment now?
Q: How much will the transition to IPv6 cost?
Q: Is there a specific date when everything needs to be upgraded to IPv6?
Q: When will I need to turn off IPv4?
Q: I run IT services. What should I be doing now to get ready?
Q: I have enough addresses today. Why should I bother implementing IPv6?

A. About IP, IPv4 and IPv6

Q: Is the Internet about to run out of IP address numbers?
A: Yes and no. For the version of the Internet Protocol that underpins the Internet today (IPv4) there is a limited amount of unused space remaining. While estimates vary, according to the Number Resource Organisation, pool of IPv4 addresses was depleted on 3 February 2011.[1], The transition of the Internet to IPv6 is the only available long-term solution to IPv4 exhaustion.

Q: What is IPv6?
A: IPv6 is successor to IPv4. It functions similarly to IPv4 in that it provides the unique, numerical IP addresses necessary for Internet-enabled devices to communicate, but this 128-bit-based IPv6 provides trillions of times more addresses than IPv4. A typical IPv6 address has 8 groups of four hexadecimal digits (0-F) and each group is separated by a colon so it looks something like this: 2001:0db8:85a3:08d3:1319:8a2e:0370:7344.

Q: What happened to IPv5?
A: IPv5 is reversed for the Internet Stream Protocol which has not been widely deployed.

Q: How does IPv6 solve the problem of IPv4 address exhaustion?
A: Simply by having a lot more address space to uniquely identify devices that are connected to the Internet. IPv4 has a theoretical maximum of about 4 billion addresses whereas IPv6 has an unimaginable theoretical maximum: about 340 trillion, trillion, trillion (3.4 x1038) addresses.

5 Q: What happens when the IPv4 address pool is finally depleted?
A: Existing devices and networks connected to the Internet through IPv4 addresses will continue to work as they do now. In fact, IPv4-based networks are expected to co-exist with IPv6-based networks.

However, for network operators and other entities that conduct business online, it will become increasingly difficult and expensive - - eventually prohibitively so - to obtain new IPv4 address space to grow their business. The cost and complexity associated with doing business online will escalate.

Network operators and enterprises will therefore need to implement IPv6 in order to ensure the long-term growth of their business and global connectivity.

Q: When will IPv4 addresses actually run out?
A: The last batch of available IPv4 addresses was allocated on 3 February 2011. In the Asia Pacific region, since 15 April 2011 new service providers can only get IPv6 addresses.

Q: Why is IPv6 a great solution?
A: The expanded addressing capacity of IPv6 will enable the trillions of new devices such as smartphones, household appliances and vehicles to connect to the internet. IPv6 will also enhance the quality of service for supporting new applications and services such as IP telephony, video/audio, interactive games, e-commerce.

Q: Will IPv6 addresses run out eventually?
A: No, at least not in the next 50 years. An enormous amount of IP address space exists under IPv6. This addressing capacity will enable the trillions of new Internet addresses needed to support connectivity for a huge range of smart devices such as phones, household appliances and vehicles.

Q: What is the difference between IPv4 and IPv6? Will users be able to tell the difference?
A: IPv6 has a longer address than IPv4. A typical IPv6 address has 8 groups of four hexadecimal digits (0-F) separated by colons, so it looks like this: 2001:0db8:85a3:08d3:1319:8a2e:0370:7344. On the other hand, IPv4 is represented by four groups of decimal numbers from 0 to 255 and typically follows the following format: 202.112.101.255.

Q: Are there other advantages to IPv6 besides increased address space?
A: IPv6 provides much more address space. However, being a more recent protocol, IPv6 does have a few design improvements over IPv4, particularly in the areas of auto-configuration, mobility, and extensibility.

Q: I have heard some people say IPv6 is more secure than IPv4, while others say it is less secure than IPv4. So who is right?
A: Debates concerning IPv4 versus IPv6 security often focus on different aspects of network deployment.

It has been said that IPv6 is more secure because the specifications mandate the inclusion of the IP Security (IPsec) suite of protocols in products. In IPv4, including IPsec is optional, but it is commonly available. Because the IPsec protocol suite is designed to be indifferent to IP versions, the technology works generally the same way in both IPv4 and IPv6. In this way, the benefits of using IPsec are similar in either environment. Network operators should become educated on IPv6 security practices and keep up-to-date with developments as they plan for and deploy IPv6.

Q: Will IPv4 address depletion mean that services will get switched off?
A: No. Both IPv4 and IPv6 will run in parallel for a long time although eventually the Internet will run on IPv6 only.

Q: How long do you think we will have the IPv4 and IPv6 protocols active at the same time?
A: No one can predict when IPv4 will be turned off. This will depend on market forces. When IPv6 becomes the dominant network it will draw more people in and demand for IPv4 will drop. However, both IPv4 and IPv6 must co-exist in order to resolve the backwards compatibility, such as older network printers that cannot be migrated to IPv6.

Q: What still needs to happen for the Hong Kong industry to effectively transition to IPv6?
A: The transition to IPv6 will require collaboration across the Internet industry, including all Internet Service Providers, Website owners, hardware and software vendors. All major industry players need to take action to ensure products and services are ready for the transition.

Q: What and when is "World IPv6 Launch"?
A: The first World IPv6 Day took place on 8th June, 2011, where top websites and Internet Service Providers around the world, including Facebook, Google, Yahoo, Akamai, and Limelight Networks, joined together with more than 1000 other participating websites for a successful global trial of the new Internet Protocol, IPv6. By providing a coordinated 24-hour "test flight", the event helped demonstrate that major websites around the world are well-positioned for the move to a global IPv6-enabled Internet.

June 6th, 2012 is designed as "World IPv6 Launch" Day, where major ISPs, home networking equipment manufacturers, and web companies around the world will come together to permanently enable IPv6 for their products and services. Click here to find out how you can join the launch.

B. About transitioning to IPv6

Q: How will the switch to IPv6 affect me? What will happen if I do not switch?
A: For the next few months it won't have a major impact on your life. Most operating systems actually support IPv6, including Mac OS X 10.2 Linux, Windows 7 and Windows Vista. However, many routers, high-end security appliances products and servers don't support it, making a connection between a device with an IPv6 address to a router or server that only supports IPv4 impossible.

If industry decides not to switch over to IPv6, it could also mean:
  • Your favourite web programmes will slow down.
  • Computers will have a harder time communicating with each other, affecting the smooth running of multimedia services like Skype and DropBox.
  • Your privacy could be compromised because with all the dividing of addresses, it will be hard to tell the difference between you and another computer user down the street.

Q: Is IPv6 ready for deployment now?
A: The short answer is yes. There are three basic aspects involved in the deployment of IPv6: the protocol, the products, and the operational practices.

IPv6 is ready for deployment in Hong Kong, but additional effort is needed to make its use pervasive. The whole Hong Kong IT community, including equipment vendors, application developers, network operators and end users all have a vital role to play in ensuring the successful deployment of IPv6.

Q: How much will the transition to IPv6 cost?
A: For home users, operating systems such as Mac OS X, Windows, and Linux now incorporate IPv6 within their latest releases and will automatically use IPv6 if it is available. Applications and network devices are expected to follow as the global demand for IPv6 increases.

For SMEs, since network needs and businesses differ, IPv6 transition strategies and related costs will also vary between organisations. Hardware and software vendors are increasingly integrating IPv6 as a standard feature in products, allowing organisations to deploy IPv6 as part of routine upgrade cycles. For many organisations, operational costs, including staff training, and one-time administrative costs to add IPv6 to management databases and documentation, are likely to account for most of the cost of upgrading to IPv6. Organisations that run in-house customised software will experience additional costs to upgrade these programs to IPv6, and enterprises that have test/release processes will see a marginal additional cost for the IPv6 configuration tests.

Q: Is there a specific date when everything needs to be upgraded to IPv6?
A: No. There is no specific date when everything must be upgraded to IPv6, although some organisations, including governments, have already identified target dates for their own IPv6

implementation. IPv6 has been designed for a long period of co-existence with IPv4 and it is expected that IPv4-only systems and applications will survive for many years. However, IPv6-only systems are expected to snowball as momentum gathers across the globe and especially in emerging business markets and developing countries.

Implementing IPv6 requires considerable planning and with IPv4 address pool exhaustion in 2011, this planning needs to start now. Network operators and administrators should already be incorporating IPv6 into their network upgrade and procurement plans.

Q: When will I need to turn off IPv4?
A: Possibly never. The purpose of deploying IPv6 is to ensure network growth and continued interconnectivity when IPv4 address space becomes depleted and difficult to obtain. In addition, as the global Internet continues to expand, it is likely that some Internet sites will only be available via IPv6.

To avoid problems, Internet stakeholders should be fully IPv6-enabled by the time IPv6-only sites start appearing. However, in practice, it is only the public-facing part of an enterprise's infrastructure V usually the website - that needs to be IPv6 enabled at the outset. The back-end infrastructure - which users do not interact with directly - can continue to be based entirely on IPv4, so long as that is the most cost-effective approach. (Enterprises may determine that it is more cost-effective to progressively turn off IPv4 in parts of their network once it is no longer needed or in significant use.)

One should expect, however, that it might never be cost-effective (or possible) to upgrade certain legacy systems. Thus, it will likely be a decade or more before enterprise sites find themselves in a position to consider completely turning off IPv4. In practice, there is no need to turn it off so long as IPv4-only applications still remain in use.

Q: I run IT services. What should I be doing now to get ready?
A: Plan for IPv6 as you would for any major service upgrade.

Do an audit of your current IPv6 capabilities and readiness (you can test your IPv6 readiness here). Assess the level of IPv6 technical knowledge within your staff and make plans for staff development and training in order to support IPv6 implementation.

Think about which of your services will lose business if they are only accessible to IPv4-users and make them a priority for an IPv6 upgrade. For example, you may plan to implement an IPv6-enabled front-end Web server immediately, before converting your internal network.

Remove obstacles to enabling IPv6 including identifying any legacy systems that cannot be upgraded, and choose an appropriate solution for them. Most likely, the solution will be an application level proxy that can support both IPv4 and IPv6 for the remaining lifetime of that system. Plan upgrades and purchases so that you don't find yourself discovering at a late stage of IPv6 deployment that you are not ready because a key system dependency is not IPv6 capable.

Contact your vendors to find out about IPv6 support in their current products and future releases and ask your ISP about their plans to support IPv6.

Q: I have enough addresses today. Why should I bother implementing IPv6?
A: IPv6 is an important part of ensuring the continued growth and accessibility of your services to the rest of the Internet and emerging markets in particular. As the Internet progressively becomes a dual IPv4/IPv6 network, ensuring that you are IPv6 enabled will be critical for retaining universal Internet connectivity for your clients, users, subscribers, business partners and suppliers. Indeed, as the difficulty and cost of obtaining IPv4 address space increases, it is inevitable that some sites will only support IPv6. Connectivity with such sites (and customers) will require IPv6.

It is also worth considering what services and devices may need to be supported over the next few years as the remaining IPv4 pool becomes depleted. Your existing address allocations may be insufficient to support a sudden increase in the number of connected devices per person, as many organisations experienced with the rapid deployment of IP-enabled wireless handheld products and similar devices a few years ago.


  Footnote:
1.ISOC - http://www.internetsociety.org/ipv6

View IPv6Now.hk in Mobile | Desktop
Copyright © 2012 Internet Society Hong Kong
W3C World IPv6 Launch

你的IP地址是 54.226.76.27
以一般大小的文字觀看以較大文字觀看以最大的文字觀看 大小
Organised By:Internet Society

常見問題

有關常見、技術問題及解決方案,請參閱 互聯網協會(Internet Society)的FAQ網頁

A:關於IP、IPv4和IPv6

問:互聯網是否即將耗盡IP地址?
問:IPv6是什麼?
問:IPv5去了哪裡?
問:IPv6如何解決IPv4地址耗盡問題?
問:IPv4地址資源耗盡時會發生什麼事?
問:IPv4地址將於何時用盡?
問:為何IPv6是重大的解決方案?
問:IPv6地址資源會有用盡的一天嗎?
問:IPv4與IPv6有什麼不同?用戶能夠分辨嗎?
問:除了增加地址空間,IPv6有其他優勢嗎?
問:我聽有些人說IPv6比IPv4更安全,亦有些人說IPv4比IPv6更安全。哪個說法是對的?
問:IPv4地址被耗盡時,是否意味著有關服務將會關閉?
問:你認為IPv4和IPv6規約需要並存多久?
問:香港業界需要做什麼,才可以有效地過渡至IPv6?
問:「全球啟用IPv6行動」是什麼?它會在何時舉行?

B.關於過渡至IPv6

問:轉換到IPv6對我有何影響?如果我不轉換的話,會發生什麼事?
問:IPv6已為架設準備就緒嗎?
問:過渡至IPv6需要多少費用?
問:有沒有一個特定的時候前把將所有東西升級至IPv6?
問:我什麼時候需要關閉IPv4?
問:我負責營運資訊科技(IT)服務。我現在應該做什麼準備工作?
問:我現時有足夠的IP地址。我為什麼要為實施IPv6而煩惱?

A:關於IP、IPv4和IPv6

問:互聯網是否即將耗盡IP地址?
答:這個答案沒有是與非。對於現時全球所使用的互聯網規約(Internet Protocol)版本-IPv4,未使用的地址空間所餘無幾。雖然業內的估算方式不盡相同,但根據號碼資源組織(Number Resource Organisation)的數據指出,全球IPv4地址資源已於2011年2月3日用盡[1]。過渡至IPv6,將是解決IPv4耗盡問題唯一長遠的解決方案。

問:IPv6是什麼?
答:IPv6全名為「互聯網規約版本6」,為IPv4的後續。它的功能與IPv4相似,能為互聯網裝置提供獨一無二的數字式IP地址,以便進行通訊溝通。IPv6以128位元排列為基礎,提供的地址數量比IPv4多出數萬億倍。一般的IPv6地址擁有8組,每組包含4個十六進制字符(即0-F),每組之字符以冒號分開,例如:2001:0db8:85a3:0000:0000:8a2e:0370:7334。

問:IPv5去了哪裡?
答:IPv5早被預留用於互聯網串流規約(Internet Stream Protocol),但從未在全球被廣泛應用。

問:IPv6如何解決IPv4地址耗盡問題?
答:IPv6提供更多的地址空間,以識別連接到互聯網的裝置。理論上,IPv4最多可以提供約40億個地址,而IPv6則提供約340萬億 萬億 萬億(3.4x1038)個地址,數量多得難以想像。

5 問:IPv4地址資源耗盡時會如何?
答:透過IPv4地址連接到互聯網的裝置和網絡,將可繼續操作。其實IPv4網絡亦可與IPv6網絡同存。

不過,對於需要通過網絡辦公的營運商及其他組織而言,獲取新的IPv4地址空間來擴展業務將愈見困難,換言之營運成本及複雜程度將不斷上漲。

因此,網絡營運商和企業需要架設IPv6,才能確保業務增長及連接全球。

問:IPv4地址將於何時用盡?
答:最後一批IPv4地址資源已在2011年2月3日獲分派。在亞太區新網絡服務商在2011年4月15日起,只能獲分派IPv6地址。

問:為何IPv6是重大的解決方案?
答:IPv6有助提供數以萬億計的全新IP地址,連接智能手機、家庭電器,以及汽車等裝置至互聯網。IPv6亦為IP電話、視頻/音頻、互動遊戲、以及電子商務等嶄新應用與服務,帶來更佳的服務質素。

問:IPv6地址資源會有用盡的一天嗎?
答:最少在未來50年來都不會,因為由IPv6提供的IP地址空間非常龐大,可為手機、家庭電器和汽車等數以萬億計智能裝置,提供全新互聯網地址的連接。

問:IPv4與IPv6有什麼不同?用戶能夠分辨嗎?
答: IPv6的地址排列比IPv4長很多。一般的IPv6地址擁有8組每組包含4個十六進制字符(即0-F),而各組之間是以冒號分開,所以它看起來像這樣:2001:0db8:85a3:08d3:1319:8a2e:0370:7344。而另一方面,IPv4地址則由4組介乎0至225之間的數字組成,例如:202.112.101.255。

問:除了增加地址空間,IPv6有其他優勢嗎?
答:IPv6能提供更多的地址空間。作為新引進的通訊規約,IPv6在設計上作出一些改進,尤其於系統自動配置、流動性,以及延展性方面都比IPv4優勝。

問:我聽有些人說IPv6比IPv4更安全,亦有些人說IPv4比IPv6更安全。哪個說法是對的?
答:鑑於網絡部署的不同,IPv4與IPv6的安全性差距存在爭論。

有一種說法指IPv6相對安全,全因該標準要求產品必須加入IP Security (IPSec)系列規約。而在IPv4中,IPsec雖然只屬選擇性配置,但它卻是十分常用。IPsec規約套件的設計不受IP版本影響,無論在IPv4和IPv6之上的運作方式大致相同。隨著網絡營運商規劃和架設IPv6,他們應該好好掌握IPv6的安全作業模式,並且緊貼有關方面的最新發展。

問:IPv4地址被耗盡時,是否意味著有關服務將會關閉?
答:不是。IPv4和IPv6將同時運行,在一段頗長時間後,互聯網才會全面步向IPv6化。

問:你認為IPv4和IPv6規約需要並存多久?
答:沒有人能預測IPv4何時結束,這將取決於市場力量。當IPv6成為主導後,自然會吸引更多人使用,令IPv4需求下降。然而一些舊式網絡打印機,並不能直接用於新的IPv6網絡上。因此兩個網絡必須共存,才可解決舊產品兼容問題。

問:香港業界需要做什麼,才可以有效地過渡至IPv6?
答:過渡至IPv6將需要業界通力合作,包括所有互聯網服務供應商、網頁擁有者、硬件,以及軟件廠商等。所有主要的業者都需要採取行動,確保產品與服務已為過渡至IPv6做好準備。

問:「全球啟用IPv6行動」是什麼及何時舉行?
答:首個「世界IPv6日」已於2011年6月8日舉行,由Facebook、Google、Yahoo!、Akamai和Limelight Networks等網站和互聯網服務供應商巨頭一同參與,聯同其他超過1,000個網站,通過提供24小時的「試航」活動(Test Flight),成功為IPv6進行全球試驗。這次盛事顯示世界各地的主要網站早已作好準備,攜手邁向全球化IPv6的互聯網。

2012年6月6日將會是「全球啟用IPv6行動日」,屆時全球主要互聯網服務供應商、家居網絡儀器廠商,和網絡公司將會聚首一堂,永久啟用它們的產品及服務的IPv6功能。請點擊 這裡找出如何參與這項行動。

B.關於過渡至IPv6

問:轉換到IPv6對我有何影響?如果我不作出行動的話,會發生什麼事?
答:在未來數月,它不會對你的生活有重大的影響。事實上,大多數操作系統都支援IPv6,包括Mac OS X 10.2、Linux、Windows 7和Windows Vista等。不過,很多路由器、高端保安設備,以及伺服器都不支援它,這令具有IPv6地址的裝置將無法與僅支援IPv4的路由器或伺服器連接。

如果業界決定不轉換至IPv6的話,這意味著未來將會:
  • 你喜愛網站節目的播放速度將會減慢。
  • 電腦之間的通訊將會出現困難,難以提供順暢的多媒體服務,影響包括Skype和DropBox等。
  • 由於同一IP地址下,需要不斷在下層派發連線地址,這會令你與其他電腦之間,難以辨別「身分」,或會引起私隱問題。

問:IPv6已為架設準備就緒嗎?
答:IPv6的部署包括三個基本範疇:規約、產品,以及營運模式。

雖然香港已為IPv6部署作好準備,但需要額外的努力,才能廣泛普及應用。整個香港IT社群,包括設備廠商、應用開發商、網絡營運商和最終用戶,都必須擔當重要的角色,以確保成功部署IPv6。.

問:過渡至IPv6需要多少費用?
答:對於一般用戶來說,Mac OS X、Windows及Linux等操作系統的最新版本都已支援IPv6,可以自動連接。隨著全球對IPv6的需求不斷上升,預期應用軟件及網絡設備亦會陸續支援這項新規約。

由於各行各業的網絡需要和業務性質都不一樣,因此不同企業的IPv6過渡策略,與所需費用將會有所不同。硬件及軟件商已為產品提供IPv6整合標準,這讓企業能夠在例行升級中部署IPv6。

對於許多企業來說,營運成本(包括員工培訓、管理數據庫和文件等一次性的行政費用等)可能佔去大部分的IPv6升級成本。採用自訂化軟件的企業,他們將需要付出額外成本才能升級到IPv6,此外,對於擁有測試/發放程序的企業來說,將需要為IPv6配置測試支付小量費用。

問:有沒有一個特定的時候前需要把將所有東西升級至IPv6?
答:沒有。雖然包括政府的一些組織已確定IPv6實施日期,但全球並沒有具體時間表,要求所有用戶升級至IPv6。IPv6經過精心設計,能與IPv4長期共存,預計僅支援IPv4的系統和應用程式將可繼續使用多年。預計在新興及發展中國家,對於純IPv6的系統需求會不斷增加。

由於實施IPv6要求完善周詳的規劃,加上IPv4地址資源已於2011年耗盡,因此有需要從現在開始,馬上進行規劃工作。網絡營運商和管理人員應已把IPv6納入網絡升級及採購計劃中。

問:我什麼時候需要關閉IPv4?
答:可能永遠都不需要。部署IPv6是為了確保在IPv4地址空間所剩無幾時,網絡仍然可以持續增長,並且互聯互通。此外,隨著全球互聯網不斷擴展,一些互聯網網站可能只可以透過IPv6存取。

為了避免出現問題,在僅支援IPv6的網站開始出現時,互聯網的利益相關者應該能夠全面支援IPv6。然而在實際環境中,企業只有對外的基建設施部分(如網頁伺服器),需要在開始時便啟用IPv6。所有後端基建(毋須對外通訊的設備),則完全可以繼續使用IPv4,這是最合乎成本效益的方法。企業亦可因應成效益,考慮逐步關閉不再需要,或仍然使用的IPv4網絡部分。

然而大家都應該明白,為某些舊式系統升級並不合乎成本效益,甚至永遠不能升級。因此企業網站可能需要十年或更長的時間,才考慮完全關閉IPv4。在實際情況中,只要需繼續使用僅支援IPv4的應用程式的話,便毋需關閉它。

問:我負責營運資訊科技(IT)服務。我現在應該做什麼準備工作?
答:你應該做好IPv6的規劃工作,就像進行其他大型服務升級計劃一樣。

你可為現時的IPv6功能及準備程度(按 這裡測試你的IPv6準備程度)進行審核。評估員工的IPv6技術知識水平,制定發展和培訓計劃。

試想想你有哪些服務如果只能使用IPv4,令業務流失,有關服務便應該優先升級。就如轉換內部網絡前,應先在前端Web伺服器實施IPv6。

要消除支援IPv6的障礙,就要找出不能升級的舊式系統,並選擇合適的解決方案。最常見的方法是通過應用代理(Proxy)的方式,令系統在餘下的時間同時支援IPv4和IPv6。而做好升級和採購的規劃,能避免在升級的最後階段,才發現關鍵系統尚未支援IPv6。

要了解現有產品及未來版本能否支援IPv6,請聯絡各供應商,並向你的網絡供應商查詢IPv6的支援計劃。

問:我現時有足夠的IP地址。我為什麼要為實施IPv6而煩惱?
答:為了令互聯網服務持續成長,支援發展中地區的市場增長,IPv6的地位十分重要。隨著企業用戶逐漸採用IPv4/IPv6雙標準網絡,這將有助擴展新興市場及保留現有的用戶、業務夥伴,以及供應商。

現時要獲得充裕IPv4地址的難度和成本正不斷增加,一些新網站將只能靠IPv6提供服務,而連接這類型網站將需要IPv6。

隨著剩餘的IPv4資源耗盡,你必須考慮未來數年需要支援甚麼服務和裝置。你現有的IP地址,可能不足夠應付數量驟增的網絡裝置,情況就像數年前,有許多企業在快速部署支援IP功能的無線產品一樣。

  Footnote:
1.ISOC - http://www.internetsociety.org/ipv6
檢視 IPv6Now.hk: 流動版 | 桌面版
版權由香港互聯網協會所有,©2012
W3C World IPv6 Launch